Performance Details

In light of the current situation created by the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and following the advice received from the Scottish Government, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra is regrettably cancelling this perforrmance. 

The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave) (10’)
Now you Hear Me, Now you don’t (15’)
The Lark Ascending (13’)
Symphony No 4 (26’)

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore - Director / Violin
Colin Currie - Marimba

This May, the internationally acclaimed Scottish Chamber Orchestra return to Linlithgow with a fantastic programme of music.

To begin, a stormy trip to the Isle of Staffa with Mendelssohn’s timeless Hebrides Overture.

Next, the brilliantly talented Scottish percussionist Colin Currie performs an intriguing work - Now you Hear Me, Now you don’t - on the marimba.

We then take flight with one of the most popular pieces of classical music of all time, Vaughan Williams’ much loved The Lark Ascending.

To end, a taste of Italy courtesy of Mendelssohn’s joyous and life affirming Symphony No.4 ‘Italian’.

Tickets on sale online (above), by phone on 0131 557 6800 and from Far From the Madding Crowd (20 High Street, Linlithgow EH49 7AE).

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore

Director / Violin

Ref only contact 9673 biography block

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore was appointed concertmaster of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in 2016.
Read more

Colin Currie


Colincurrie007 (credit marco borggreve) biography block

Championing new music at the highest level, Colin Currie is the soloist of choice for many of today’s foremost composers and performs regularly with the world’s leading orchestras and conductors.
Read more