Thu 11 Jun,19:30
Universal Hall, Findhorn

Select your tickets

Standard £16.00
Senior £14.00
Disabled person £6.00
U26/ Student/ Unemployed £6.00

Need more information on ticket types?

Performance Details

In light of the current situation created by the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and following the advice received from the Scottish Government, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra is regrettably cancelling this perforrmance. 

Symphony for Winds in B-flat Op 3 no 4 (09’)
Mládí (19’)
Overflow (SCO Commission - WP) (10’)
London Trio No 1 in C (08’)
Divertimento No 9 in B-flat, K240 (10’)
Seven Dances from Les Malheurs de Sophie (12’)

The perfect accompaniment to a summer’s evening, the internationally renowned SCO Wind Soloists serve up a memorable musical feast. There’s something for everyone in this entertaining programme, which is guaranteed to bring a breath of fresh air to venues across the country.

The concert opens with Johann Christian Bach’s Symphony for Winds No 4. By turns jaunty, delicate and even wistful, happily the piece ends on a bright, cheerful note.

This is followed by Janáček’s evocative and charming Mládí. Written towards the end of his life, the composer is in contemplative mood here, describing the piece to a friend as ‘a kind of memory of youth’. The past may famously be a foreign country, but perhaps Janáček’s music can take us back there, even if just for a short while.

A much-anticipated highlight is the World Premiere of the SCO’s Associate Composer Anna Clyne’s new work, Overflow, which has been commissioned especially for this tour. Her piece is inspired by Emily Dickinson’s poem By The Sea and 2020 being the Year of Coasts and Waters. It will also be shaped by climate change, and the way in which the tiniest motion can create massive waves.

Our musical journey then continues with the first of Haydn’s London Trios - here for two flutes and a bassoon. This is a simple, sunny delight as is the following amusing Mozart Divertimento No 9!

To complete the evening’s entertainment, let us transport you to France with Françaix’s Seven Dances. The music is from the score for the ballet Les Malheurs de Sophie (The Misfortunes of Sophie) which was based on a popular 19-century French children’s book. In the book, the Sophie of the title’s outrageous adventures include shaving off her eyebrows and terrorising pet fish. Fittingly, the music is as joyful and mischievous as you could wish for and we can guarantee that no fish will be harmed during this concert.

Tickets available online (above), by phone on 0131 557 6800, from the Phoenix Community Store (The Park, Findhorn IV36 3TZ) and on with a 10% booking fee. 

SCO Wind Soloists


Sco winds 1 biography block

"You'd be hard-put finding better wind ensemble playing. That these are colleagues, who sit next to each other day-in, day-out was evident in every sinuous interchange, every synchronised breath, every well-meshed articulation and intuitively balanced chord. As individuals, they play with the forthrightness of orchestral principals; as a group, they share nuances as instinctive chamber musicians". The Guardian