Fri 12 Jun,19:00
Fetlar Hall, Fetlar
Book tickets

Performance Details

In light of the current situation created by the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and following the advice received from the Scottish Government, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra is regrettably cancelling this perforrmance. 

String Symphony No 2 In D (10’)                 
Invention In D (01’)
Duo No 22 ‘Lamento’ (01’)   
String Quartet No. 3 ‘Aspects Of Peltoniemi Hintrik’s Funeral March’ (12’)   
Hungarian Folk Tune ‘Choral’ (02’)   
Romanian Rhapsody No 1 (12’)                 
Five Folk Tunes (03’)
Divertimento (25’)

JONIAN ILIAS-KADESHA - Director/Violin       
PHILIP HIGHAM - Cello                                          

Soar into summer with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra String Ensemble and a delightfully varied evening of music by Mendelssohn, Bach, Bartók and more.

We open the evening with a work by child genius and musical pioneer Felix Mendelssohn. Remarkably, Mendelssohn wrote his high-spirited Second String Symphony aged just 12, and its boisterous invention celebrates the influence of both Beethoven and Bach.

Fittingly, the next work of the evening is one of Bach’s Inventions and Sinfonias, a collection of works originally composed to develop the piano technique of his son. Perhaps unsurprisingly, these delightfully complex and inventive pithy works are rather easier to listen to, than to master on the keyboard.

‘They attract each other, reject each other, love and hate each other’ is how the composer Jörg Widmann describes the intense relationship between violin and cello in his short, but not always sweet, Duo series.

Sallinen’s String Quartet No. 3 may have been written in 1969, but its origins lie in a far older piece of folk music; Peltoniemi Hintrik's Funeral March. That influence is most obviously heard in the melancholy feel of the opening, which in time gives way to a far more dramatic movement, before ending with an optimistic, almost romantic harmony.

The evening continues on an upbeat note with preeminent Romanian composer’s George Enescu’s Romanian Rhapsody. A deceptively simple stark opening for solo violin gradually builds to a fast and furious infectiously charming finale.

To close, we return to the works of Bela Bartók and firstly, the rich melodies of his Five Folk Tunes before finishing with his highly original Divertimento. Written in the troubled times of 1939, it begins with a light-hearted feel that darkens to a more sombre note as the piece progresses. Happily, by the end it as if the relentless energy of the strings has seen off the dark clouds and there is hope again.

Tickets on sale from Shetland Arts ( / 01595 745 500 and in person at Mareel, Lerwick ZE1 0WQ). 

In association with Shetland Arts

Jonian Ilias-Kadesha

Director / Violin

Mimf jonian 11 credit kaupo kikkas resized 320x320 biography block

“To regard him simply as a huge talent is not enough; there is an element of pure genius in this young man.” Harald Eggebrecht
Read more 

Philip Higham


Philip h biography block

Philip has been described as ‘possessing that rare combination of refined technique with subtle and expressive musicianship… all the qualities of a world-class artist’ (The Strad) 
Read more