Performance Details

Subscriptions for four or more season concerts are NOW ON SALE
Single tickets are on general sale from Thursday 9 May 2019.

Wind Quintet, Op 43 (25’)
Serenade for Wind Sextet (10’)
Movement for Wind Sextet (7’)
Suite in B-flat, Op 4 (25’)

SCO Wind Soloists
RCS Wind Students

Two magnificent wind ensembles; four exhilarating masterpieces from the wind repertoire. The SCO’s own eminent Wind Soloists join forces with the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland’s crack Wind Students for a much-anticipated afternoon of high spirits and playful charm.

Nielsen’s striking Quintet; Seiber’s superbly conceived folk-like sextet for pairs of clarinets, bassoons and horns; Britten’s atmospheric movement for wind sextet written when he was still at school; and Strauss’ Suite combines all the forces with a nod towards the great orchestral wind writing later heard in his symphonic works.

SCO Wind Soloists


Scogroup002 biography block

"You'd be hard-put finding better wind ensemble playing. That these are colleagues, who sit next to each other day-in, day-out was evident in every sinuous interchange, every synchronised breath, every well-meshed articulation and intuitively balanced chord. As individuals, they play with the forthrightness of orchestral principals; as a group, they share nuances as instinctive chamber musicians". The Guardian