Performance Details

Prometheus Overture (5’)
Prince of Clouds (14’)
Sound and Fury World Premiere (15’)
(Co-commissioned by SCO and Orchestre National de Lyon) 
Divertimento in D, K136 (13’)
Symphony No 60 ‘Il Distratto’ (24’)

PEKKA KUUSISTO – Director / Violin

How many symphonies could be called genuinely funny? Well, at least one: Haydn’s 60th started life in the theatre as the score for a comedy and it is packed full of gags: a great chance for Pekka Kuusisto to share his own irresistible sense of humour. SCO Associate Composer Anna Clyne may add her own comedic touches as her new piece is inspired by the Haydn. If so, it should contrast beautifully with her Prince of Clouds, a beautifully touching Double Violin Concerto, full of ravishing, glistening string writing.

SCO Leader Benjamin Marquise Gilmore partners the free-spirited Finn Pekka Kuusisto in the Grammy-nominated Double Violin Concerto Prince of Clouds by SCO Associate Composer Anna Clyne.

COMPOSER INSIGHTS, 6.45pm - 7.10pm
Free for concert ticket holders in Edinburgh and Glasgow
Associate Composer Anna Clyne discusses her new work and Prince of Clouds.

Digital editions of the programmes are now available for sale for £2 from 
These can be purchased and read online or downloaded the morning of the first concert of the week. We will then make these available free of charge the following Monday. 
Traditional printed programmes will still be on sale at the venue for £3.

Pekka Kuusisto

Director / Violin

Pekka kuusisto high res 1   credit kaapo kamu1 biography block

Pekka Kuusisto is renowned for his fresh approach to repertoire. An advocate of new music, Kuusisto’s recent premieres include concerti by Sauli Zinovjev, Anders Hillborg, Andrea Tarrodi and Philip Venables. This season he performs Daníel Bjarnason’s Violin Concerto with the Iceland and Detroit symphony orchestras, and its Finnish premiere with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra as well as the Austrian premiere of Hillborg’s Bach Materia with the Camerata Salzburg. Other highlights include debuts with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Aurora Orchestra with whom he tours to Singapore and the UK. He returns to the Philharmonia, Helsinki Philharmonic orchestras, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, and WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln. He also takes up a season-long residency at the Wigmore Hall.

> Read more

Benjamin Marquise-Gilmore


Ben sco 261 new style cover biography block

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore grew up in England and studied with Natalia Boyarskaya at the Yehudi Menuhin School and Pavel Vernikov at the Vienna Conservatory, as well as with Julian Rachlin, Miriam Fried, and members of the Artis quartet and the Altenberg trio. His father was the musicologist Bob Gilmore, from whom he received instruction in music theory at a young age, and his grandfather is the conductor Lev Markiz, with whom he has performed on many occasions.

> Read more