Performance Details

Overture, Egmont (9’)
Piano Concerto No 1 (44’)
Symphony No 7 (35’)


To open the 2019/20 Season, the Orchestra welcomes the 2019 International Classical Music Awards ‘Artist of the Year’ Javier Perianes, performing one of the great pillars of the Romantic repertoire, Brahms’ First Piano Concerto. A huge clap of D minor thunder arrests your attention from the outset, before you are transported into a world of dance. Javier Perianes learned his trade from the likes of Daniel Barenboim, Richard Goode and Alicia de Larrocha, and made a remarkable debut with the SCO in 2017, stepping in as a last minute substitute in Schumann’s Piano Concerto.

Dvořák’s highly dramatic, and at times tempestuous, Seventh Symphony owes stylistic debt to his great friend Brahms (and is boldly described by Classic FM as “Dvořák’s greatest symphony”). Conductor François Leleux is a remarkable musician who knows just how to draw wonderful, sensitive playing from the Orchestra.

François Leleux


F black test 3 web biography block

François Leleux, renowned for bringing “bigger-than life personality” to his performances (Chicago Classical Review), regularly appears as soloist, conductor and player/director with the world’s leading orchestras, festivals and concert series. His pre-eminence as an oboist is internationally recognised, but in recent seasons Leleux has in parallel established a significant reputation as a conductor, working with orchestras such as hr-Sinfonieorchester, Camerata Salzburg, Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich and Sydney, Swedish Radio and WDR symphony orchestras.

> Read more

Javier Perianes


Perianes 2 credit josep molinaedit biography block

The international career of Spanish pianist Javier Perianes has led him to perform in the most prestigious concert halls, with the world’s top orchestras, collaborating with conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Charles Dutoit, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta and Gustavo Dudamel. He was recently awarded ‘Artist of the Year’ in the 2019 International Classical Music Awards.

> Read more