Performance Details

Online tickets are now off sale. Few tickets will be available on the door, from 6.30pm. 

Symphony No 31 ‘Paris’ 
Variations on a Rococo Theme 
Symphony No 104 ‘London’ 

Philipp von Steinaecker conductor
Philip Higham cello

The Orchestra’s superb principal Cellist Philip Higham is soloist in Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations – a work that tips its hat to the eighteenth century, but is utterly Romantic at heart. 
The opening of Mozart’s ‘Paris’ Symphony is one of the grandest, most thrilling sounds, with Mozart making use of clarinets for the first time in a symphony. Conductor Philipp von Steinaecker continues the genial high spirits and passion in Haydn’s final Symphony, written when the conductor was staying in London.

Tickets available online (above), over the phone on 0131 557 6800 and from April also at Gadget Solutions (25 High Street, Turriff AB53 4ED). 
Full time carers come for free. Please select free U18s ticket for booking a carer seat. 

Philipp von Steinacker


Philipp vsteinaecker d 164 biography block

Philipp von Steinaecker was the first recipient of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment’s Melgaard Young Conductor position. Since then he has had broad experience as a guest conductor with many orchestras including the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, New Japan Philharmonic, Slovenian Philharmonic, Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Residentie Hague Philharmonic, Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Prague Philharmonia. 

> Read more 

Philip Higham


Philip higham 1 biography block

Born in Edinburgh, Philip studied with Ruth Beauchamp at St Mary's Music School and subsequently at the RNCM with Emma Ferrand and Ralph Kirshbaum. He also enjoyed mentoring from Steven Isserlis. In 2008 he became the first UK cellist to win 1st Prize in the Bach Leipzig competition, and followed it with major prizes in 2009 Lutoslawski Competitions, and the 2010 Grand Prix Emmanuel Feuermann in Berlin. He was selected for representation by Young Classical Artist Trust, between 2009 and 2014.

> Read more