Performance Details

GINASTERA Variaciones Concertantes (21’)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G (23’)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 4 (34’)

So many wonderful soloists in this concert! Each of Ginastera’s 12 Variaciones puts different orchestral players in the spotlight, making a kind of kaleidoscopic spectacular. Then Bertrand Chamayou takes the stage for Ravel’s jazzy concerto. Ravel fell in love with jazz in the 1920s and fused it brilliantly with his own European heritage.

Chamayou is sparky, dazzlingly virtuosic, but thoughtful and sensitive too: the ideal soloist. After such a high-octane first half, Pons closes the evening with Beethoven’s lustrous Fourth Symphony.

Josep Pons


Web igor jos%c3%a9p pons22662 (1) biography block

Josep Pons is regarded as the leading Spanish conductor of his generation, receiving the Spanish National Music Prize for his outstanding work on twentieth century music in 1999.

Read more >

Bertrand Chamayou


Beethoven piano concerto no4 chamayou biography block

Bertrand Chamayou has mastered an extensive repertoire displaying striking assurance and imagination. He has appeared at major festivals including Lucerne and Edinburgh International Festival. 

Read more >