Performance Details

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll (18’)
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto (25’)
SUCKLING Meditation (after Donne) World Premiere (10’)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 8 (26’)

Marking the centenary of the Armistice, this special event represents a musical response to the legacy of war and the feelings of commemoration, love, loss, joy and peace it brings. Suckling’s Meditation is bound to be intriguing, with the inclusion of bells pealing from across Scotland. With the added luxury of one of the Season’s headline artists, Nicolas Altstaedt, a highly creative director and cellist in Schumann’s hugely expressive Concerto, the programme opens with Wagner’s beautiful lullaby and is completed with a work of brightness, optimism and good humour – Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony.

Martin Suckling explores his new work Meditation (after Donne).

Nicolas Altstaedt

Conductor / Cello

Altstaedt nicolas biography block

Renowned worldwide for his musical integrity and effortless virtuosity German-French cellist Nicolas Altstaedt is one of the most sought after and versatile artists today. As a soloist, conductor and artistic director, he enthralls audiences with repertoire spanning from the baroque to the contemporary. His SCO Season programme includes the Schumann Cello Concerto alongside the World Premiere of Martin Suckling’s Meditation (after Donne).

Read more >