Performance Details

This programme has recently been updated:

Three Hungarian Dances (arr. Dvorák)
Piano Concerto in G minor, Op 33
Symphony No 3 

Changes to concert

It is with regret that both conductor Robin Ticciati and soloist Sir András Schiff are unable to be with us for this performance. We hope there will be an opportunity for them to collaborate together with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in the future.

We are delighted that our Conductor Emeritus Joseph Swensen has kindly agreed to step in alongside gifted Czech pianist Lukáš Vondráček. We are pleased to be presenting Dvorak Piano Concerto and Brahms Symphony No 3 as originally programmed. Three Brahms Hungarian Dances replace Bach Orchestral Suite No 3.

Performance in the Foyer by St Mary’s Music School, Edinburgh.
Glasgow: Pre-concert recital by students from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, who are working with musicians from the SCO to develop their skills and experience in the performance of chamber music.

Joseph Swensen
Swensen joseph 2 credit ugo ponte edited 2 biography block

Joseph Swensen is Conductor Emeritus of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Principal Guest Conductor of the Orquesta Ciudad de Granada and Artistic Partner of the Northwest Sinfonietta (USA). Sharing his time between conducting and violin playing, Swensen is also Professor of Music (violin) at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music and has been appointed Visiting Professor (violin) at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

Read more >

Lukáš Vondráček
Lukas biography block

The indisputable winner of the International Queen Elisabeth Piano Competition 2016, Lukáš Vondráček, has had an exciting 2017/18 Season, with debuts with the Tokyo Metropolitan Orchestra at Tokyo’s Suntory Hall, Moscow State Symphony Orchestra at the Grand Hall of Moscow Conservatory, Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra at Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw and the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra. 

Read more >