Masterworks takes students on a creative journey, uncovering hidden contexts and inspiring new works

Masterworks is the SCO’s flagship project for upper secondary school music students and provides a unique opportunity for students to engage with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, bringing to life their learning relating to the SQA Curriculum for Excellence.

Through Masterworks the SCO aims to reach secondary schools in every one of Scotland’s 32 local authorities over a three year cycle. The theme for 2017 and 2018 is American Minimalism. The programme features music by John Adams and Steve Reich, introduced by expert presenter Rachel Leach (, conducted by Jessica Cottis ( and performed by the SCO.

Masterworks presents a fantastic opportunity for pupils to experience the excitement of a live orchestra up close, and to hone their listening, performing, composing and improvising skills through experiential workshops led by expert SCO musicians. Masterworks opens up new sound-worlds to young people, encourages them to listen to a wider variety of genres, and equips them with knowledge and musical tools to be more adventurous in their own compositions. We encourage teachers to adopt Masterworks as part of their music curriculum for the autumn term.

Schools’ Concert with Guided Presentation

Tuesday 18 September - Royal Concert Hall New Auditorium, Glasgow
Wednesday 19 September - Victoria Halls, Helensburgh
Thursday 20 September - Easterbrook Hall, Dumfries

All concerts start 1.00pm - 2.15pm

Free for all schools

Masterworks 2018 v4

For more information, please contact Atzi Muramatsu, Education Officer, by email or phone 0131 478 8353.

Watch a short documentary film on Masterworks 2017 below.

"It was impressive, entertaining and spectacular"
S5/6 student, Midlothian, 2017
"…they were enthralled with performances … It’s a fantastic opportunity for our pupils as we so rarely have performing companies"
Teacher, Moray, 2017
Teachers Resource Pack
This pack is designed to help music teachers and the class prepare for the SCO Masterworks concert featuring three classic works of American Minimalism.
Masterworks 2017 Teachers Resource Pack - pdf - 2.38 MB